Welbeck lifts Gunners, Torres boosts Atletico

March 16, 2018
Atletico Madrid's players celebrate their victory during the Europa League, round of 16 second leg match against Lokomotiv Moscow in Moscow, Russia yesterday.
AC Milan's Ricardo Rodriguez (right) is tackled by Arsenal's Henrickh Mkhitaryan during the Europa League round of 16 second leg at the Emirates stadium in London yesterday. Arsenal won 3-1.


Danny Welbeck celebrated his England call-up by scoring twice as Arsenal beat AC Milan 3-1 yesterday to cruise into the Europa League quarterfinals 5-1 on aggregate.

German powerhouse Borussia Dortmund suffered a surprise exit at the hands of Salzburg. Two goals by Fernando Torres helped Atletico Madrid oust Lokomotiv Moscow, while CSKA Moscow knocked out Lyon after winning the second leg in France 3-2.

Marseille progressed after a 2-1 win at Athletic Bilbao that was marred by crowd trouble. Lazio advanced with a 2-0 win at Dinamo Kiev and Leipzig drew 1-1 at Zenit to go through 3-2 on aggregate.

Viktoria Plzen beat Sporting 2-1 after extra time but it was not enough to prevent the Portuguese team reaching the last eight 3-2 on aggregate.

The draw will be held today.




Hakan Calhanoglu put Milan in front after 35 minutes at the Emirates Stadium with a long-range effort.

Welbeck, named in England's squad earlier in the day for this month's friendlies against the Netherlands and Italy, levelled for Arsenal from the penalty spot.

Granit Xhaka then netted in the 71st minute before Welbeck made the game safe four minutes from time.

Arsenal, sixth in the Premier League, are likely to have to win the Europa League to secure a spot in the Champions League next season.




Torres' two goals for Atletico came in the second half against Lokomotiv.

He converted a penalty in the 65th minute after substitute Antoine Griezmann was fouled by goalkeeper Anton Kochenkov before adding his second with a low right-foot shot five minutes later.

Angel Correa, Saul Niguez and substitute Antoine Griezmann were also on target for Atletico. Maciej Rybus scored for host Lokomotiv.

Atletico, winner of the competition in 2010 and 2012, advanced 8-1 on aggregate.

Other Sports Stories