I think I’m addicted to sex

August 14, 2019

Dear Pastor,

I am a 17-years-old girl and I think I'm addicted to sex. At the tender age of 13, I lost my virginity to a family friend who raped me. He is now in jail, but only on the charge of having sex with a minor. He got only three years. Sometimes I regret taking the matter to court because I feel like the justice system has failed me.

After this incident, I started having sex a lot, and throughout high school I was sexually involved with 12 guys, and I'm now a first-year student in college. This new environment is kind of overwhelming for me because whenever I see a guy, all I can think about is having sex with him.

However, so far I've been able to control my urges, but I worry that I might never be a good girlfriend or even a good wife because I will always have urges to cheat.

Pastor, I really need your advice because I can't live like this, and I'm hurting so badly.

Sex Fanatic

Dear Sex Fanatic,

First of all, I want to let you know that I regret hearing that you were raped. You say that you regret that the man who raped you was charged and sentenced to prison for having sex with a minor. I wouldn't attempt to try your case except to say that every rape should be reported. And the guilty should be sentenced to prison.

UNABLE TO CONTROL URGES

You have a big concern because you believe that you are addicted to sex and you have had sexual intercourse with many guys during high school. You find yourself not being able to control your sexual urges, but so far in college, you have been doing fairly well. At least, you should tell yourself that you will always see handsome guys, but you will have to learn not to throw yourself at them or give them the impression that you want to go to bed with them.

Already, you have regretted being promiscuous in high school. You cannot change what has happened, but you can be determined to be different while at college.